Meecel

Software for Mobile Platform

RssDemon 3.1.19

Download from Android Market

RssDemon is powered by http://www.appyet.com. If you have website or blog, you can create your Android App in few steps. Please check it out.

– Android: Fixed broken Download Article
– Android: Removed Hide Read for Playlist items.
– Android: Updated Türkçe (Turkish) language support (Thanks to Caner Kamburoglu)
– Android: Updated tiếng việt (Vietnamese) language support (Thanks to scholarshipplanet)

121 responses to “RssDemon 3.1.19

  1. Mathias February 28, 2012 at 6:57 am

    Hello,
    I’m running RssDemon 3.1.19 on ICS 4.0.2.

    I like your application and I think I could buy a licence…

    But… I have a big problem :

    Everyday I would like to update, load to cache and listen this radio podcasts list (French radio) :

    http://radiofrance-podcast.net/podcast09/rss_10075.xml

    Important : The daily podcasts list is available during the morning with always the same title : “LES MATINS DE FRANCE CULTURE (1ère partie)”

    Remark : The previous day podcast (lastly called “LES MATINS DE FRANCE CULTURE (1ère partie)”) come with a new name (“A l’occasion du Salon de l’Agriculture : peut-on encore sauver notre agriculture ?” for example).

    The first day, everything work like a charm, I mark the podcast to download (wifi icon), and add the podcast to the RssDemon playlist (playlist icon) and listen it…

    The problem come the next day when I try to update the podcasts list :

    – In the main screen, the podcast have been updated (the day and hour have changed).
    – In the details list of the podcast (podcast entries), the new podcast : “LES MATINS DE FRANCE CULTURE (1ère partie)” of the day (02/28/2012) IS NOT AVAILBALE to download/listen. This is last day podcast “LES MATINS DE FRANCE CULTURE (1ère partie)” (02/27/2012) which is available to listen and still in cache (which is I wanted too).
    – A regular new entry (from the RSS) “A l’occasion du Salon de l’Agriculture : peut-on encore sauver notre agriculture ?” (02/27/2012) add been added.

    how can I solve this problem ?

    Could you please add more powerusers friendly options :

    – I would like to know what is doing RssDemon when is updating (loading an article ? Caching a podcast ?). Be more verbose if the user want it. An activity with the list of update tasks and a progressbar for each task would be nice.
    – Force to reload/reset a particular rss option.
    – Tag the cached/saved podcast whith de name of the podcast or rss article (actually the mp3 name is a big number).
    – Extract a podcast from cache.
    – Let user to choose if he want to add a particular podcast to the default android’s music player.
    – Let user store rss content without time limit if he want it.

    Thanks for this app,

    Mathias.

  2. Mathias February 28, 2012 at 9:47 am

    In French translation.

    – Change:
    “Keep starred top” -> “Conserver les favoris au-dessus”
    “Keep starred articles at the top of list” -> “Conserver les articles favoris au-dessus de la liste”

    “Keep starred unread”-> “Conserver les favoris comme non lus”
    “Keep starred articles unread”-> “Conserver les articles favoris comme non lus”

    “View image on touch” -> “Voir image au toucher”
    “Touch any image on article to open full size image”->”Toucher l’image d’un article pour ouvrir l’image en taille réelle”

    “Sort playlist by -> “Trier la playlist par”
    “Sort playlist by selected order” -> “Trier la playlist par l’ordre choisi”

    – Error in translation, change :
    – “Clé de volume” -> “Bouton de volume”
    -“Définir une action pour la clé de volume” -> “Définir une action pour le bouton de volume”

  3. Jarda February 28, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    Hi,
    I have the latest 3.1.19 version running on CM7 (2.3.7) ZTE Blade.
    After the upgrade to this version it is not automatically downloading full text of the new articles unless they are manually marked for download one-by-one. Of course, for all feeds the automatic article loading is switched on. I set it back and forth for all feeds with no effect. Could you, please, check and correct it? I am using Instapaper option for full text.
    I am missing some option how to fastly mark (one by one or globally) article for download now. Going thru menu is very uncomfortable.
    Thanks a lot and have a nice day.
    Jarda

    • Jarda February 29, 2012 at 1:36 am

      Strange,the application meanwhile changed its oppinion and now it works. After more than two days of non-downloading articles, it works fine now.
      Have a nice day.
      Jarda

      • Mike September 8, 2013 at 11:22 pm

        I’m having this same problem. Since July when I started using RssDemon it was downloading the full text of articles in my feeds. But then last week it started only downloading a summary of the articles. I have these parameters set:
        Feed -> Properties -> Auto download new articles (for every feed)
        Article updates -> Automatic updates
        -> Update interval of 4 hours
        -> Update on startup
        Also setting the “Article download provider” to either Instapaper mobilizer or Google mobilizer results in only article summaries downloaded and not the entire article text.

  4. Mathias March 1, 2012 at 5:36 am

    Maintain the scroll position when user come back to the list of the articles will be a plus.

  5. scuzi March 3, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    One big feature request: Group similar feed items and only display the most recent.
    The reason, as most websites want to publish any news they put online as fast as possible, editing the article multiple times is not uncommon. In RssDemon you will then have almost identical items two more more times.

    • Alain August 14, 2012 at 1:11 pm

      I second this feature request.

      Multiple updates of the same article is one reason.
      Multiple feeds of similar interest overlap and publish some duplicated content (for example BBC World news, BBC News and BBC Technology news) – although not everything is duplicated.

      As part of this feature request, I would particularly appreciate if the default (possibly configurable as a setting) would be to mark all copies in all feeds and previous updates read in one sweep as soon as the article is marked read.

  6. Johan Winge March 12, 2012 at 4:41 am

    I’ve just discovered this great app. There is one problem though: I have not been able to control the media player using the headset on my galaxy s2. The option is enabled in the settings, but nothing happens when I press the button.

    • meecel March 12, 2012 at 4:17 pm

      we will look into this problem. thanks for reporting it.

    • umbighouse January 18, 2013 at 9:49 am

      I have an HTC One S and also cannot control the media player using the headset. I don’t know how I did this, but when podcasts were played with the phone’s default media player app, it worked. When they play through the app’s media player, it doesn’t.

      Is there a way to force the app to use a certain media player?

      • umbighouse January 18, 2013 at 11:45 am

        UPDATE: I did a fresh install of the app and discovered the following:
        1) When streaming a podcast, the app uses the built-in phone’s Media Player app, and responds to the headset button.
        2) When playing a downloaded podcast, the app uses its own media player, which does NOT respond to the headset button. Also, the headset button press will start playing the phone’s media player, which overlaps audio with the podcast.

        Hope this helps- I’d really like to use this as my podcast app. Thanks.

      • Dude January 18, 2013 at 6:22 pm

        Hey umbighouse

        That seems to be how RSSDemon works. External player for streams, internal for downloads.

        About headset buttons, there is an option for this. Go to Settings then Podcast Media.

      • umbighouse January 18, 2013 at 10:12 pm

        The issue isn’t that the app uses different media players depending on stream/local media (although I’d like to be able to choose which is used for all), it’s the fact that my headset button doesn’t work for local media, but it does for streaming media.

        Yes, I have the headset option in the settings configured to pause, but it only works for streaming media.

      • Dude January 20, 2013 at 1:18 am

        Did you see the other option there? “React to Headset” Is that doing anything?

      • umbighouse January 20, 2013 at 1:24 am

        Yes, as I mentioned, “react to headset” works for the Android media player (streaming podcasts), but for local/downloaded podcasts which are played with the app’s media player, it does not respond.

      • Dude January 20, 2013 at 3:12 am

        I see. So basically that feature is busted. The option should have no bearing on Andoid’s player. I would expect that to work for the RSSDemon player only. I have a headset with a button at work. Will play with this.

      • umbighouse January 23, 2013 at 3:39 pm

        Any update on this? Just wondering if the ‘react to headset’ feature could be fixed. This is a great app, but I’m really looking for this feature. Thanks.

      • umbighouse February 13, 2013 at 10:27 am

        Any update on the headset button issue? It’s not working for the local downloads player. It only works for streaming podcasts. Thanks.

      • Matt Grayburn July 18, 2013 at 8:14 am

        I have the same issue as umbighouse with the player not reacting to the headset buttons for downloaded podcasts. I have mentioned this a few times in the past but unfortunately nothing has worked. (and yes I do know what I’m doing 🙂 Winamp, Mortplayer and Android Music Player all work perfectly. I have tried headset controller apps too but nothing works for RssDemon. My next step is to possible erase the .nomedia file (or something similar) in the RssDemon podcast cache folder and then to use another player. I have no idea yet but they don’t seem to be updating this app any more so I’ll have to look into other options which is a real shame because I really like this app.

        I previously had a HTC Incredible S but now a Galaxy S3 4G.

  7. alienpet13 April 6, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    Love this app!

    Would like to suggest a feature…

    It would be nice if there was a way to export starred items… perhaps to an html file with a list organized by category/feed/date, etc. The list need only contain the article headline and link to original article. That way I could periodically delete the starred items to free up SD card space and still keep my starred items for later reference.

    And I’m probably dreaming here but one day… would be amazing if you made a PC version of rssDemon that could sync with my android device… wishful thinking maybe but any chance of this ever happening? I currently use Omea on the PC for feeds, but wish I could sync my activity with my rssDemon app on my android device.

    Thanks and keep up the great work!

  8. Changho April 10, 2012 at 4:04 am

    I use this app very well…. and this app is very good…

    I want to see feeds only downloaded…. please…

  9. FATlui April 19, 2012 at 6:40 am

    How about a widget counter or an alternative scrollable widget?

  10. FATlui April 19, 2012 at 6:42 am

    Sry –> doublepost

    How about a widget counter or an alternative scrollable widget?

  11. Bengt April 21, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    Great app!
    But, the font choice is not the best. On my Xperia S the feed text is gray on light grey background, except the headings that are black and bold.
    Please change the text too to black. If possible the font and color should be configurable by the user.

  12. Dan April 29, 2012 at 10:24 am

    Just a question: Is there any way to store the podcasts on the external sd card?
    Thanks

  13. Dmitry_N May 2, 2012 at 7:59 am

    Hi Meecel,
    Any plans for an update?
    I am asking mainly because the “menu bar” on the HTC One X sucks. Possible to get rid of it with updates?
    Thanks in advance.

  14. Ramesh May 6, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    Dear Friend,
    i am using your RSS reader. I am from india, i would like to read my native language in your product. Currently RSSdemon is not supporting Tamil (Indian) language. is it possible to add tamil also? I have HTC wildfire and not rooted.

    A sample tamil web blog http://kanuvukalinkathalan.blogspot.in/.

  15. Emanuele May 16, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    Hi there,
    I have got a problem with refreshing the content of feed items being updated by the server after the first download.
    I have checked the data received from the server and, even if the feed and the item’s values are being changed, looks like RSSdemon is not reloading the feed item content.
    Is there any solution to this?

  16. Emanuele May 16, 2012 at 11:34 pm

    sorry my previous comment was sanitized: I was talking of the a10:updated field being updated by the server

  17. /təˈloʊfi/ (@Telofy) May 17, 2012 at 7:15 am

    I’d love it if you could implement that the name of the author is shown on the list and article views. I get entries of maybe close to a hundred authors on my feed, and guessing from the writing style who may be the author is very error-prone. Usually I have to open each item in the browser to see the author, which ca take ages depending on the network strength. It would be a great improvement for me.

    Thank you, and thank you for the wonderful app,
    Telofy

  18. Ramesh May 20, 2012 at 4:52 am

    i would like to give Tamil translation. Please let me know how to do?

  19. mathazm May 31, 2012 at 6:17 am

    good reader, i like the ‘favourite’ section.
    is it possible to sync with google reader, so i can choose whether i want to read feeds on my pc or on my mobile? a 4×1-widget with random news shown would be great too.

    cheers!

  20. Enrique P. June 13, 2012 at 9:18 am

    Thanks for your great app. I Just upgraded to the “Elite” version as an acknowledgement to your work.

    Everything works fine. Well… almost everything, as I am having problems with the widget in my Samsung Galaxy S3. It shows three black “boxes” with only part of the news header (the text that appears is bottom-justified, and only the bottom half of the “boxes” display text; the top half is black). I think that the whole widget needs a review.

    Also, and apart from that, it would be nice if it could display news from more than one feed.

    Thank you!

    • Drew June 19, 2012 at 4:13 am

      The widget definitely could use some refinement and additional options. I love the main app views, especially the Latest view.. but is such a view of all feeds in one really not possible in the widget? It seems so surprising.

      Also, considering the widget is 4×2 it does seem surprising that such a small amount of text can be shown. BuzzBox had a 2×2 format which managed to show 3 headlines (vertically) inc photo to the side. I would love to see that format.

      But this is still an excellent reader!

  21. Someone June 28, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    any plan to support those new high resolution mobile?
    the images re-scaled to very small in the new mobile

  22. Matthias July 9, 2012 at 4:46 am

    Hello!
    Maybe I am doing something wrong, but I think the use of the external SD Card does not work on the Samsung Galaxy S1. I have the option Use external SC-Card checked (in German: SD-Karte nutzen), but the cache is in /sdcard/Meecal/Cache which is actually the build in SD-Card. The external card should be addressed like: /sdcard/external_sd/Meecal/Cache. Since my internal SD Card is running full, adressing the external SD-Card is critical to me.

    best regards
    Matthias

    (RssDeamon 3.1.19 on Samsung Galaxy S1)

  23. Holga July 9, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    Hi!

    Many heise feeds are not working like http://www.heise.de/newsticker/heise-atom.xml

    The feed is always empty.

    Any idea why?

    Kind regards

  24. Chiphead Dave July 9, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    I am running 3.1.19 on a CM7 nook and RSSDemon which (for months) was working perfectly has seemingly lost it’s link between downloads and the manager for podcasts.

    I can tell it to download a podcast, manually start an update and watch it download the podcast (on the android update/watch screen) but it never shows up in RSSDemon as downloaded.

    It downloaded 121 “new” podcasts today and none of them showed up in the feeds pages as being downloaded.

    I have tried clearing the cache and clean up steps with no luck.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!

  25. Pino Gargiulo July 16, 2012 at 5:52 am

    Is there a way to toggle download status on an entire feed? I added a new source and all the items are marked for podcast download. I would like to reverse this and manually selecting wich items to download.

  26. Alain Culos August 1, 2012 at 11:04 am

    Hi,

    RSSdemon is a great app. Easy to read and browse, I love the categories and the way one can continuously read headlines.

    One big improvement though would really help me (and stop me from looking for an alternative RSS reader).

    As it stands I use multiply overlapping news sources (different BBC feeds, Guardian, and a few others) some of which repeat the exact same articles across the feeds.

    The best feature improvement from my point of view would be the automatic removal of duplicates.

    This would translate in two separate requirements:

    1/ when viewing a category that aggregates several feeds, remove duplicates from the displayed list (possibly identify all the sources that published the article, instead of just the first or last one)

    2/ for a given feed, only keep the last update of the same article (remove old copies)

    3/ when an article is read, mark all other copies of the same article, in different feeds, as read so that it does not show up again when viewing the other feeds.

  27. A August 13, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    Is there a way of doing a back up of the subscribed podcasts and downloaded articles/podcasts so that they can be moved to a different phone?

  28. Matthias August 14, 2012 at 5:04 am

    Hello!
    I am running the germain version of RssDemon 3.1.19 on a Samsung Galaxy S
    If you choose “SD-Karte nutzen” (Use SD-Card) the feeds are saved on
    /mnt/sdcard/Meecal/Cache
    From my point of view, the correct directory is:
    /mnt/sdcard/external_sd/Meecal/Cache
    because this is actually the external sd card which is usually much larger as the internal card.
    Could you please change this in the near future!
    thanks a lot
    Matthias

    • Alex January 24, 2013 at 6:14 pm

      I think this also happens on my S3. I really wish this could be sorted out or at least one could edit the path. Any advice on this?

  29. Sergio Vaccaro August 18, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    Am I unable to find it or RssDaemon is unable to authenitcate to a protected feed?

    • Rebecca Lamey September 5, 2012 at 5:00 pm

      Bring up the properties for the feed you want to authenticate, and then scroll all the way down. Underneath the auto update/download checkboxes are the username and password fields.

  30. Rebecca Lamey September 5, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    I did a dummy, while tired. Instead of hitting “clear cache”, like I usually do… I hit “clear playlist”. Now my playlist is, of course, completely empty. Is there a way to bulk add feeds back into it? I found how I can add individual podcasts, but I don’t really want to go through all 2000+ and checkmark, one-by-one. Thanks!

  31. edoliscom September 8, 2012 at 12:50 am

    Reposting:
    Hi there,
    I have got a problem with refreshing the content of feed items being updated by the server after the first download.
    I have checked the data received from the server and, even if the feed and the item’s values are being changed, looks like RSSdemon is not reloading the feed item content.
    Is there any solution to this?

  32. llluuuzzziii September 19, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    Hi Meecel
    since I does not find my comment (from a few days ago) again:
    Is there a way to adjust the Mobilizer service? I use my own and would like this.
    Thank you

  33. Dmitry_N September 20, 2012 at 2:34 am

    Hi meecel,
    Do we have a chance for an updated version of RSS Demon? Or have you abandoned the development?
    Thanks in advance.

  34. elton September 22, 2012 at 12:02 am

    I have auto update turned off but cpu usage stays at 22% even if app is backgrounded

  35. DreiBaer October 5, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    Hi,

    I’m trying to download this Podcast: http://podcast.wdr.de/maus.xml But there is still 0/0 in the Informaztion of the Feed after updating.
    Is it a strange Format of the Feed or is there a bug in the RssDemon.

    Best regards
    DreiBaer

  36. braloum October 7, 2012 at 2:44 am

    It would be good to be able to save podcasts in the external sd card !!
    There is no updates since February…
    Does It means this product is discontinued??

  37. Carlos November 4, 2012 at 5:25 am

    I like RSSDemon very much (in fact I have it installed in all my Android devices), but I have a problem with the app in a tablet I bought, because this device doesn’t have a physical “Options” button in it, so I can’t get to the Settings in RSSDemon.

    Any idea on how to solve this? Thanks!

  38. meph November 10, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    Hi,
    I need to get feeds with digest authorization (to read friends’ privatу posts at livejournal.com), but it doesn’t seem to work in RSSDemon, neither with login/pass entered, nor with “login:pass@address?auth=digest” construction in feed address. Does anyone know, is it possible to do in RSSDemon?

    meecel, is it going to be implemented in future versions? Is it going to be soon?

  39. chandler November 29, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    I think I am witnessing an issue with RSSDemon. In a feed that I publish there is a possibility for articles to have the same TITLE, yet they will have different GUID which denote that they are unique articles. RSSDemon seems to be ignoring new articles that have the same title as another article in the feed. This seems to be a major error in the application. In my opinion it should be comparing GUID’s instead of titles.

  40. Dude January 7, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    I have a very simple problem. When I tap on the RSS icon in the web browser address bar, it gives me no opportunity to take the RSS to RSSDemon. Only for direct links does it show “complete this action with …” where you can choose RSSDemon. Taking the feed to Google reader and then having to import it is annoying.I do not even want a Reader account.

  41. Dude January 17, 2013 at 2:48 am

    How can we permanently mark a podcast feed for download? Not just for the next update but for every update from now on until disabled?

    • Dude February 1, 2013 at 6:04 am

      I figured this out. If we long tap a feed we can get to its settings. Scroll down and there are checkboxes for auto downloading articles and podcasts for that feed.

  42. jorgo kioussis January 24, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    Nothing left to desire from an RSS reader.Excellent functionality- behaving indeed smoothy on an Antdroid 1.6 machine (xperia x10mini pro). Thanks for the goodies. JCK.

  43. Elle January 31, 2013 at 6:49 am

    I have RSS demon installed on three android devices (one ablet and two phones, all Samsung, in case it makes a difference). Is there a way to syncronize my feeds between these 3? Thanks

    • Elle February 13, 2013 at 5:31 am

      please? anyone?

      • Sheryl September 15, 2013 at 12:54 pm

        I also would love to have the ability to sync across devices – without having to input all the feeds! I just had to replace a device and am in the process of manually loading all 187 feeds one at a time. I love the app and do not want to replace it after paying for the Elite one, but am very discouraged as I start doing one at a time. Any direction to a better way? Or hope for an update that includes this? I’d even pay again for an upgrade to avoid doing this!! Thanks.

  44. Gianni January 31, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    The OPML import needs to recognize groups. For example, the following news feed has been placed in a “News” group in the OPML file, the app should organize the feeds the way they are imported:

    Also, there should be a ‘Select all’ option when importing from OPML files.

    Other than these two things it’s an excellent app.

  45. Gianni January 31, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    Looks like my example got removed since it was enclosed in “outline” tags.

  46. Dude January 31, 2013 at 7:59 pm

    RSSDemon is not fetching items from this feed:

    http://www.japantimes.co.jp/feed/topstories/

    Google Reader gets the items.

    Previously, I had a Japan Times feed that worked. I picked it up via the feedburner.com aggregator. (I did not notice that. I thought it was coming right from the Japan Times site). Anyway, a few days ago, that feed stopped updating. I blew it away and tried to get the above one. Nothing

    • Dude February 4, 2013 at 1:46 am

      The feed has changed in some way. RSSDemon is fetching it again. But I saved a copy of the nonworking feed, with the wget utility on a Linux box.

  47. Dude February 4, 2013 at 1:54 am

    Screen rotation bug.

    When reading feed items, in the detailed view (one item per screen) an annoying behavior occurs when you rotate the screen. RSSDemon jumps to some distant item in the same feed. The user has to navigate through the feed to return to the item.

  48. Dude February 4, 2013 at 1:59 am

    Player bug.

    Sometimes the player does not advance to the next file in the playlist, after reaching the end of the audio This is annoying because if I’m riding a bike, I have to stop and fiddle with the phone.

  49. Dude February 4, 2013 at 5:04 am

    Feature Requests: Starred items, visibility

    In Settings we can turn a mode which causes items to become unread when their star is toggled on.

    This feature is useful but not a great substitute for being to mark a read article unread. Read/unread status is one thing and the starred state is another.

    1. Please provide a real mark unread command that does not involve star state. (Keep the optional feature that starring marks an item unread, too.)

    2. Please change the Starred Items virtual feed so that it always shows all starred items, even if they are marked read and hide read is in effect. I.e. the only way an item disappears from Starred is if its star is removed, or if it is deleted.

    This way it is more flexible and intuitive. When the user wants to return to an item he or she has read, he or she can star it. But, the item is read and so is now hidden in that feed. This is good: such items to be revisited do not clutter the feed. Later, the user finds that item in Starred. At that point, the user can remove the star to be done with that item, finally. Or the user can mark the item unread, so it reappears in its respective feed.

  50. Dude February 4, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    Bug report: podcast items sometimes not downloading automatically on feed which is marked that way.

    I regularly pull this podcast: http://www.nhk.or.jp/rj/podcast/rss/english.xml

    I have not had a chance to listen to the podcasts that came over the weekend until today (Monday), so the first podcast in the playlist was one that came on Saturday.

    I clicked to play it, and it was not downloaded! RSSDemon prompted me to complete the action with an external media player to play the stream from the network.

    I was still on Wi-Fi, so I in the RSSDemon UI, I marked the feed manually for podcast download, and then invoked a feed fetch.

    RSSDemon reporting that it is downloading 1/1 podcasts, and then done.

    Okay, so I hit the door, listening to that podcast. But, ooops, when it reached the end of that podcast, the next one was also not downloaded. The dialog box came up to complete the action.

    The expected behaviors are:

    1. If a feed is marked for auto-download of podcasts, the user should never have to manually download. At worst, the user should just have to wait for an automatic download to complete. When the items arrive, they are downloaded in the same fetch cycle immediately. (For me, these feeds always update in the a.m. hours of the night, because I’m in a different time zone. The device is always on Wi-Fi, so in the morning, all the items should be downloaded. By the time I wake up, hours have passed since those new items were published.)

    2. If a feed is downloaded either manually or automatically, all podcast items belonging to that feed which are not downloaded should download.

  51. Gianni February 13, 2013 at 7:28 am

    Feed urls containing the %22 characters, which is the code for the double quotes (“) will fail. I tried replacing them with ” instead but that failed too. Can we get a fix for this please.

  52. Minnie the Minx February 28, 2013 at 8:36 am

    I installed this on my Nexus 4 and originally it had an entry in Comics for Dilbert, which I accidentally removed… How can I get it back please? Dilbert is my hero!

  53. metal13 March 7, 2013 at 2:11 am

    this is the best rss reader i can find for android. but it seems the developers are not updating it anymore. i wish they could also make a desktop version that i can also sync with my mobile devices. so i can save feeds whether on my mobile or my desktop and it will show up on both devices after sync.

  54. Sara March 20, 2013 at 1:05 pm

    As Google Reader will shut down, what will happen to this reader? I like it very much and would be sorry to not have it anymore.
    Now to my problem: There is one feed I can’t get. Bild.de Home Does someone have a solution to this? I have it on other readers and there is no problem with it there.

    • elton March 23, 2013 at 12:52 pm

      This app should survive the demise of Google Reader because you can registrer feed urls directly with the app. I have been using it for about 6 months now and never made it sync with Google Reader. This is a golden opportunity for this app to shine because many others are going to have a problem … but alas it looks like the developer is not actively working on it. A lot of great feature requests here but no one seems to be listening

      • Sara March 24, 2013 at 4:45 am

        Thanks for your reply, Elton. It sounds logical.Let’s hope, it is so. And at least i understood, how to get my RSS feeds not only by Google sync.

  55. RssDemon User April 5, 2013 at 5:06 am

    rssdemon is a great app, but it has no update for over a year, is development terminated?

    • meecel April 5, 2013 at 9:32 am

      No, we have new version with completely new design coming in near future.

      • Sara April 5, 2013 at 11:27 am

        Great, waiting for it!

      • RssDemon User April 14, 2013 at 9:12 pm

        Great news!!!
        Could you please improve the image auto fit feature on large resolution device, like galaxy note or xperia z? The auto fitted image is so small on a large screen now.

      • bob May 3, 2013 at 8:13 am

        Is there anyplace you guys are making update?s I was greatly surprised to see a response here, RSS Demon is nearly perfect but I thought it was abandoned.

      • Usr June 13, 2013 at 11:48 am

        As much as it’s great to hear development is still underway and near to a new release, I really hope this new design you speak of does not deviate too heavily from the original layout. It’s very simple, informative and functional, unlike some most other RSS readers that care more about displaying the content richly. For me, this app needed improvement not reinventing. I’m interested to see what you’ve done. Thank you.

      • metal13 July 6, 2013 at 4:37 am

        nice to hear that. hoping to hear news of that new version.

      • witty July 30, 2013 at 8:40 am

        Cool news!!

  56. munder April 12, 2013 at 3:37 am

    The OPML import needs to recognize groups! While importing from OPML there should be a ‘Select all’ option.

  57. Miguel April 19, 2013 at 11:13 am

    I love this app… however there’s a little something preventing me from switching completely to it. It lacks syncing between devices. Is this something that the app will have in the future? Also, I’d love to be able to see animated GIFs in-app. Currently, I have to send the feed to the browser in order to see the GIF…

  58. Martin Bock April 21, 2013 at 9:24 am

    Hi,
    your apps is the only one which can handle https and basic auth feeds and is therefore great!
    But it handles new articles wrong. If the last message and the new one have the same title the new article gets not recognized by RSSDemon. Is there a way to fix it?
    Thanks in advance!

    Martin

  59. Ian Chai May 9, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    Hi! I started using RssDemon to listen to podcasts, but I found a problem: when it is a long podcast, e.g. BBC Global News, and something interrupts play, e.g. an alarm goes off, it often forgets where it was and resumes play near the beginning all over again.

    Could you adopt a scheme like Mort Audiobook Player which takes note of where it is every 10 seconds or so, and so when there is an interruption, it is at most 10 seconds off from where it left off?

    Thanks.

  60. mathewsdivinewords.blogspot.ca May 10, 2013 at 12:11 pm

    Nice post. I study something like this here at CUNY. It’s always beneficial to learn new stuff from fellow writers and obtain ideas from new sources. I’d like to utilize some of this material on my own webpage (if you don’t mind). And of course, I’ll put up a link to your site at wordpress.
    com on my own blog. Thanks for sharing.

  61. Fabio June 27, 2013 at 7:45 am

    Hi all,
    I find this reader pretty good
    but in case I’d like to download articles or podcasts I didn’t get how it decides, or how to set the amount of article/podcast to fetch, time or number or article/podcast to keep …
    Anybody has an idea

    Many Thanks

  62. metal13 July 6, 2013 at 4:37 am

    is there something wrong? i can’t seem to update my feeds. it’s been like this for two days now.

  63. Jason July 23, 2013 at 10:02 am

    Hi, I’m using 3.1.19 and the search feature within manage sources is no longer working. You can use any search word but when you hit search, nothing is returned.
    Thanks
    Jason

  64. Omar July 23, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    I have the same problem as jason, the search feature within manage sources is no longer working
    Thanks

  65. Tom The Nerf Herder (@TomXP411) July 25, 2013 at 7:45 pm

    Hi, are you still supporting Feed Demon? I have a couple of bugs I’d like to report and possibly request fixes for. If this app is no longer being supported, I’d like to know that too, so I can buy an app with active development support.

    Thanks.

    • Charles July 27, 2013 at 6:43 am

      Same here. In case this app is still been updated, here are some thing I like to see:

      1. Per feed configuration of initial view. Some feeds are better viewed as a list, while others as tiles.

      2. Per feed configuration of article expiration.

      3. Allow for larger thumbnails.

      4. Allow for more font sizes.

      5. Change the colours in the search box- it is very hard to read.

  66. Mike September 8, 2013 at 11:23 pm

    I’m having a problem with RssDemon Elite on my Droid 4 of the full text of articles is not downloaded for offline reading. Since July when I started using RssDemon it was downloading the full text of articles in my feeds. But then last week it started only downloading a summary of the articles. I have these parameters set:
    Feed -> Properties -> Auto download new articles (for every feed)
    Article updates -> Automatic updates
    -> Update interval of 4 hours
    -> Update on startup
    Also setting the “Article download provider” to either Instapaper mobilizer or Google mobilizer results in only article summaries downloaded and not the entire article text.

    • Uwe Herczeg September 9, 2013 at 2:14 pm

      Same here. Since last week no mor download of the complete articles! I can mark them for the download. But after a resync the mark for download is gone but the article is as before -> only the overview.
      BUT: if I disable WLAN and try this vi 3G it works!!!

      Enabling WLAN again leads back to the “not downloading” problem

      • Mike September 10, 2013 at 9:00 pm

        I’ve played around with this some more, and noticed that articles that I mark for download have the little red icon attached to them until an update is done, then the red icon disappears from by the article but the full article content is not downloaded. The little green icon that used to appear by articles with full content downloaded do not appear at all by the articles.

      • Uwe Herczeg September 18, 2013 at 9:32 am

        YES, but with only a 3G connection it works! All works as expected! But with WiFi –> NoGo

        Exactly as You described

        Does anybody know an alternative product which I can use for now? With same feature for article download ass RssDemon

      • Roman Koreshkov September 20, 2013 at 1:37 am

        I have the same problem even with 3G only – the “download” icon at article just disappears on next feed update (HTC Desire HD).
        I started using gReader. It is good enough, has not a bad article downloading feature. But by now I noticed a bug there that marking item as favorite is broken.

  67. Uwe Herczeg September 20, 2013 at 5:36 am

    I also switched to gReader ATM. It does not work wich such a small footprint as RssDemon. But it works, downloads and is usable…………

  68. Jim September 23, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    Hello,

    I was wondering if someone can email me the free RssDemon apk? The reason is that I have an Optimus Elite and use it as a media player. This phone is tied to Virgin Mobile and I can’t adjust the date and time, hence I get error messages and can’t access the google play store to download this app. I’ve tried a few things to try to either adjust the internal clock or get the free version of the app but no luck. Thanks in advance for anyone that can help me.

    Thanks.

  69. lorien September 24, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    Not sure if this is the right place for my question: is rssdemon still supported or is it time to choose another rss reader?

    thanks

  70. Thomas October 7, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    Cannot export opml file. Backup only creates the SQLite v3 database and settings.xml How can we export an opml?

  71. sms February 12, 2014 at 11:36 pm

    After searching for many feed reader, finally ended up with RSSDemon. Look and functions are good so far. But the biggest difficult I face is, unable to search. If I try searching any with the key word, no results found. Can you fix this ASAP. Also it would be better to sync with google account. I think this feature is exist but after signing in with google, dont find any feeds.

    Please help in resolving these issues.

    Cheers,
    SMS

  72. david February 15, 2014 at 3:17 pm

    Hi !

    Is there a way to get the .apk without googles PlayStore ?
    A direct download would be nice !

  73. Jim February 21, 2014 at 5:45 pm

    How do I move my feeds and cache from one phone to another? I tried copying the /sdcard/com.meecel.feedreader.RssDemonAd folder to the new phone but I still got all the default feeds instead of the ones from the old phone.

  74. Alan July 6, 2014 at 12:32 am

    Need soft menu button for Sprint Galaxy S5. No Menu button on the phone as there was with the Galaxy S3. Also cannot change selection in widget, have to remove and then re-add.

  75. Gerrysan August 14, 2014 at 7:54 am

    Is it possible to move the app to the EXTERNAL_SD Card?
    I have a phone with only 2gig of ram but have a 32gig external sd card?

  76. bc81Lap October 16, 2014 at 8:08 pm

    How can i export the feeds to an .opml file? please explain how to do this.

  77. Terhi January 4, 2015 at 6:29 am

    Unfortunately RSSDaemon does not work with a very popular German newspaper anymore.
    The rss-link http://newsfeed.zeit.de/index does not work anymore.
    Other rss-links are working properly.
    Other rss-readers are working with the rss-address above…
    Any ideas how to fix this? E.g. change of settings needed?
    Thanks.
    Terhi

  78. vegetableharry April 11, 2015 at 3:34 am

    Can you please provide a link to version 3.1.19 apk, because this version is not available in the Play Store anymore?

  79. Bart Degryse June 14, 2015 at 3:49 am

    Hi,
    I have a license for rss demon elite. For privacy reasons however I needed to create a new Google account for myself and now I would like to switch the license to this new account. How can I do that?
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

