Meecel

Software for Mobile Platform

RssDemon V3.1.17 Released

Download from Android Market

RssDemon is powered by http://www.appyet.com. If you have website or blog, you can create your Android App in few steps. Please check it out.

– Android: Add support to media:thumbnail Rss/Atom node
– Android: Fixed issue with $ sign in image link (Thanks to Jake Siemer)
– Android: Fixed image does’t show when link start with “//” instead of “http://”
– Android: Optimize and improve performance on Group “Mark All Read” and “Delete All” (Thanks to Brad Cornwell)
– Android: Improved View Image to allow user browser all images in same article (System default Image Viewer doesn’t support viewing mutiple images, we recommend QuickPic for this feature to work fully)
– Android: Minor tweak in feed sync performance

23 responses to “RssDemon V3.1.17 Released

  1. ASD2003ru January 23, 2012 at 4:29 am

    How protect Starred/Favorite articles for delete?
    Option in setting not work.
    And please, make option for hide starred from articles list but visible only favorites group.

    • ASD2003ru February 1, 2012 at 4:48 am

      In Russian language error.
      In Setting->Message Story ->Auto cleanup options -> Keep starred article
      Change “Keep starred article” to “Сохранить избранные статьи”

  2. J.Werner January 23, 2012 at 8:30 am

    RSSDeamon consumes about 800kB traffic each day, even with automatic updates turned off and not even starting it once. This is not a new issue on my device but its starting to annoy me as I don’t have a flatrate.
    Defy 2.1

    • meecel January 23, 2012 at 12:04 pm

      what tool did you use to monitor this usage, we will try it on our test device to reproduce your problem. Thanks

      • J.Werner January 23, 2012 at 2:25 pm

        I use 3G Watchdog and the internal Android monitoring (“Einstellungen –> Datenmanager”) which correlate quite well. In the pie chart of the Android-monitoring RssDeamon is always a pretty large piece. I’ve allways checked the three options “Artikel nur im WLAN”, “Bilder nur im WLAN” and “Podcast nur im WLAN”, even disabled “autom. Aktualisierung” which made no difference.
        Unfortunately 3G Watchdog cannot differ the usage of the different apps because I run Anddroid 2.1. I can’t tell whether die internal monitoring is accurate but it allway seems plausible to me.
        Thanks.

  3. Dani Sarfati January 25, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    Does RSSDemon support two way google reader sync yet? Or is there a way to have all of my news (which is read, which is unread) sync between my tablet and my phone? Since I got a tablet I realized I need this feature. Thanks!

    • meecel January 25, 2012 at 4:49 pm

      At this moment, RssDemon only support import feed from Google Reader, it doesn’t sync read/star status back to Google Reader.

      • Skippermark February 12, 2012 at 11:27 am

        I’m a new user to RssDemon and am trying out the free version before purchasing. I’m looking for the exact same feature as Dani. I have a phone and a tablet, and RssDemon downloads the same articles to both devices.

        If RssDemon could sync back to Google which articles have been read on one device, they would not download on the second device. I love RssDemon. It’s exactly what I’m looking for otherwise, but because of this limitation, it won’t work for me. If this feature gets added, I would definitely buy it

      • ASD2003ru February 12, 2012 at 3:51 pm

        +1 for sync with GoogleReader.

  4. scusi January 27, 2012 at 8:01 am

    Thank you for adding more support for rss images. They are still not showing on NYtimes feeds though, could you take a look at it? An option to exclude feeds that don’t have images from the tile view would be awesome too. Empty grey fields disturb the otherwise sleek look.

    I was wondering if background sync settings are respected? Wouldn’t have to go into the app settings to turn off syncing and simply use the built-in setting of Android.

    • meecel January 27, 2012 at 12:11 pm

      can you response with NYtimes feed url? I will look into your other suggestions. You will have to go to App Settings to turn off syncing in RssDemon.

      RssDemon doesn’t look at global background sync settings, but we will look into see if it is good idea to integrate

    • meecel January 27, 2012 at 1:37 pm

      NYtimes image issue has been resolved. Thanks

      On Fri, Jan 27, 2012 at 11:10 AM, Meecel wrote:

      > can you response with NYtimes feed url? I will look into your other > suggestions. You will have to go to App Settings to turn off syncing in > RssDemon. > > RssDemon doesn’t look at global background sync settings, but we will look > into see if it is good idea to integrate > >

  5. scusi January 27, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    Posted them here: https://meecel.wordpress.com/help/#comment-950 Since 3.1.17 the taz.de feed displays images but not the others. Feedburner has lots of escaped characters and their images too won’t display: http://feeds.reuters.com/Reuters/worldNews

    One more suggestion, in the article list options ‘swipe to left/right’ add a switch between feeds option like you can swipe back and forth through articles.

    • meecel January 27, 2012 at 2:35 pm

      can you give more detail on what new issues you just reported, I don’t quite understand them.

      regarding the swipe, do you mean: add a option to disable swipe article using gesture?

  6. scusi January 27, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    It’s not a new issue, same as with the nytimes feed, article images do not show up in RssDemon. I provided several examples because they differ all in how they embed images.

    The swipe option would go through article list views. Swipe left or right to display the article list of the next feed.

  7. Dude February 1, 2012 at 3:45 am

    Thanks, for this absolute awesome app! The V3 did it.
    But could you please include some kind of error message for a full SD-Card? Because what brought me here was that I thought the mobilize feature didn’t work, but my memory was full! DOH

  8. Matt February 1, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    Bluetooth headset button still do not work for this app even though Winamp, Audible & Mortplayer work perfectly on my headphones and car stereo. Do you know of others that have this issue?

    HTC Incredible S
    Android version 2.3.5

  9. Skippermark February 13, 2012 at 11:54 am

    I have a question about how RssDemon works with feeds. I subscribe to a feed that gets a LOT of posts, more than 500 every day, and it RssDemon does not download all of them.

    I had my phone off last night when I went to bed, and when I got up and synced RssDemon with Google Reader, it downloaded 32 messages from the feed. I knew there should have been more than that, so I checked the Google Reader site directly, and it showed over 250 new messages.

    Why would RssDemon only download 32 messages and not all 250 new ones? Is there a setting I need to change to get it to download all of them? Thanks!

  10. thornsovtheroze August 3, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    i cant seem to add any feeds. before the update i could search and add no problem but now when i try to search for anything, it doesnt look for anything.

Leave a Reply

