Meecel

Software for Mobile Platform

RssDemon V3.1.5 Released

– Android: Fixed Mark All Read/Delete All do not work on Favorite items
– Android: Fixed AD is showing in Elite version
– Android: Fixed Android 2.1 crash on start application (Thanks to Daniel Perup)
– Android: Fixed Option Menu not showing on some tablet devices (Thanks to Maciej Maciaszek)

20 responses to “RssDemon V3.1.5 Released

  1. Matt December 5, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    I love this app however I can never get it to react to headset. My bluetooth headphones work with Audible, Winamp, Tunewiki, Mortplayer are other programs fine but never has with RssDemon in the last 6 months. Please see if you can find a solution. I can’t be the only one with this issue.

  2. Dmitry_N December 6, 2011 at 2:50 am

    Hi meecel,
    Can you please enlighten me on how to fix the garbage issue with some sites like http://www.gazeta.ru?
    E.g. http://www.gazeta.ru/export/rss/first.xml and http://www.gazeta.ru/export/rss/lenta.xml
    In about 70% of cases, I only see garbage on the screen instead of text. I am of course talking about offline viewing. I’ve tried to change encoding in the feed options – no luck.
    Thanks in advance.

  3. ali December 6, 2011 at 3:16 am

    Since the new update the option to chose the feed limit number does not work. second issue is while listening to a podcast, I can no longer surf the internet, when I leave the podcast screen the podcast stops.

  4. Barry December 6, 2011 at 3:32 am

    Non unicode feed is not supported, please check it
    for exmaple, http://chinese.engadget.com/rss.xml

  5. Rémi Chéno December 6, 2011 at 5:32 am

    It seems to be the only way to post a comment on your amazing Android application…
    With the version 3, it is no more possible to choose a feed for the widget : it displays only the unread messages. Would it be possible to restore the choice for a particular feed?

    Thanks! And congratulations for your work!

  6. Fred December 6, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    I updated to 3.1.5 from 2.xx but found that it uses a new location for the cache without any means to copy my already downloaded articles to the new location so that I lost all my starred articles. Admittedly, I did not use it very long but I found I could not collapse the group headings which is a feature I really like. I wound up restoring a backed up version of the app (2.1.11) and am happily running that. This way I got all my old articles back and can collapse the groups.

    • meecel December 6, 2011 at 2:42 pm

      RssDemon 3.x is a recreate from scratch, it is not compatible with 2.x, this is the reason you have lost your articles. We apologize for problem it has caused to all users. Due to this reason, you will not able to restore from backup of 2.x

      You can still collapse the group headings by click on the arrow icon on the left; this is a feature for 3.x

      1. Click on arrow icon to expand/collapse

      2. Click on group text to open group article list (which is new feature for 3x)

      • Fred December 6, 2011 at 5:54 pm

        Thanks for getting back to me. Maybe I will bookmark my starred entries and give it another try. On my brief look it did seem that the UI is cleaner on the new version.

  7. Barry December 6, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    I’m now on 3.1.5 using a Motorola Defy + (Android 2.3.4)
    This and previous versions appears to ignore the Feed message store limit. I have it set to 100 but RSSDemon keeps accumulating downloads and before you know it, its ground to a halt choked with 1000s of feeds.
    The other problem that has appeared after update to 3x is the Mobilise feature formats (via the new instapaper) just 2-3 words wide on the first load. leaving empty margins either side. Refreshing within the browser does nothing, but if you go back to RSSdemon and Mobilise the same article a second time, formating is correct and good.

    • meecel December 6, 2011 at 2:47 pm

      Do you have Keep unread items checked? If you do, please uncheck to see if you still have problem. When Keep unread items checked, any unread articles will be kept.

      For the Mobilize issue you have, I think it is caused by your browser, RssDemon uses system default browser to open the mobilize link, it doesnt have control over its formats.

      • Barry December 6, 2011 at 7:11 pm

        Thanks for rapid reply.

        I have unchecked ‘keep unread’. Tried it before and it made no difference, but will report back.

        Mobilise worked fined in vers 2x (on same machine+browser) when RSSdemon used to pipe out to google’s mobile reader thingy.

      • meecel December 6, 2011 at 10:49 pm

        we will make it configurable in future version to allow user choose either google mobilizer or instapaper

      • Barry December 7, 2011 at 8:14 pm

        I am still exceeding my store limit of 100 on several feeds now, despite ‘keep unread items’ being unchecked.
        Now on 3.1.7. Thanks for re-including google mobilise 🙂

      • meecel December 7, 2011 at 8:16 pm

        we will look into limit issue.

  8. Barry December 6, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    I have another problem with the Podcast player in 3.1.5
    When in Playlist I can listen to only one downloaded audio from the playlist. Selecting another for play does nothing. Exiting/re-entering app I still have the same problem- no other podcasts can be played. Only way to fix is to force a app closure (via Android Manage Apps) and then I can play another single podcast.
    Don’t have this problem if I use ‘Play online’, but of course thats no use most of the time.

Leave a Reply

