Meecel

Software for Mobile Platform

RssDemon – Version 1.110/1.111

1. Fixed crash issue introduced in 1.109 when user has Gesture enabled. (Thanks Ray for reporting it)
2. Add HTTP status code validation for connection, it will prevent from downloading incorrect files

28 responses to “RssDemon – Version 1.110/1.111

  1. Mitchell January 1, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    I love your RSS and podcast reader! Are you considering some sort of meter to let us know how close a podcast is to finishing a download? Thanks!

    • meecal.dev January 2, 2011 at 9:15 am

      we will bring the download manager feature in near future, it will help user know what percentage each podcast download

  2. Jostian January 3, 2011 at 1:32 am

    In the latest version the threads don’t display articles that are already read even though one has selected the show read option?? This issue was not a problem in the previous version…

    • meecal.dev January 3, 2011 at 11:07 am

      Hi Jostian, could you let us know the one feed you have problem with, since we couldn’t reproduce the same problem you have with test feeds we have. are you sure you didn’t accidentally deleted all the articles? Thanks, Meecal

  3. Tanja January 3, 2011 at 10:22 am

    I work with RSSDemon since 3 month. But the lastest version (v1.111) has a great bug. On my Samsung I9000 (firmware 2.2.1/JPY) the RSSDemon losses the configuration.
    After configurating RSSDemon it works fine, but many hours later (or 1 day) it starts with welcome screen – “welcome to RSS Atom news reader! …” and 3 buttons
    * Start with default RSS feeds
    * with google reader
    * without RSS feeds
    (translated from German to English).
    If I press “without RSS feeds” my feeds are alreds there but with the default configutation (memorylimit for feeds is set back from 200 to Server default); Color configuration is lost; Gesture is disabled; …

    Please help!

    • meecal.dev January 3, 2011 at 11:14 am

      Hello Tanja, sorry to hear you have problem with our application. we have a test Galaxy S I9000M (Canada Bell Model) as well, never experience the same problem you are having. so far many users are upgraded to 1.111, you are the only one report this issue. seem like your case is corrupted app database and configuration for some reason. next time, please try to backup (Settings->Backup and Restore), it will backup data and settings to sdcard, in case you have similar, you could restore the app to original state.

      • Tanja January 4, 2011 at 6:08 am

        At installation v1.111 market says make “manual install” of app. I ignored this and do a normal update. After this the app wont work correctly. I tryed to clear cash but app wont work correctly. I cleard the cash again and uninstalled rssDeamon and reinstalled it. Since this time I have the problems explaint above.
        Is it necessary to delete any parts manualy on sdcard or internal sdcard for a complete uninstallation?

        Backup function wont work on my Galaxy S. There is the message “Backup faild! Please check SDCard (writeprotection?)”? SDCard is inserted, more than 1.5 GB free?

        Wait!!! I found following problem: in settings there is “use SDCard” ON. But i can not found a database on SDCard. The database is on internal SDCard directory Meecal.
        A new feature in new firmware (i think since JPC) is that the path to external sd-card hase changed. In my old firmware V2.1 the name of the external sc-card was “sd”; in new firmware it is “external_sd”.
        Is it possible that this is the problem? If not, what must I do to transfer the database to external SDCard?

        I hope I can help to solve the problem!

        thx

      • meecal.dev January 4, 2011 at 7:10 am

        Is your Galaxy S from Bell Canada? if no what is your model. we have a test Galaxy S from Bell, with original stock firmware 2.1, the phone bricked no less than 4 times. all due to internal sd card issue. we experience same symptom you have before, right after it the phone bricked. in case you on firmware 2.1, try to upgrade to 2.2.

        also try go to settings->Message Storage and uncheck the use of sdcard to see if it helps

      • Tanja January 4, 2011 at 8:17 am

        Not Bell Canada!
        Its a Galaxy S from Austria originally with firmware 2.1 and A1 branding. I think 14 days before 1 installed RSSDeamon v1.111 I updated the firmware to JPY/v2.2.1 (unbranded; done with Kies reghack).
        The old version of RSSDeamon works fine (I dont know if “SDCard storage” was on or off). After reinstalling RSSDeamon I set “SDCard storage” to on.

        After writing my last message I has the same idea. I turned “SDCard storage” off. But now I must wait a minimum of 1 day to say if it helps. I tell you if it works or not.

        thx

      • Tanja January 4, 2011 at 11:23 am

        “SDCard storage” was off – but the same problem again 😦

      • meecal.dev January 5, 2011 at 1:28 am

        did you try RssDemon Elite? it is a seperate application, might fix your problem, in case it doesn’t, you can uninstall it before 15 mins to get full refund.

  4. APK January 3, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    RSSDemon post Time Stamp is six hours off from what is posted on the web site for traffic info.

    http://www.ozarkstraffic.info/incidents/rss.jsp

    • meecal.dev January 3, 2011 at 5:08 pm

      the rss source contain non-standard date time format for feed “Mon, 03 Jan 2011 14:50:23 CDT”, CDT is only known in north american, not global standard. this is reason reader is not able to pick up. we will try to implement Time Zone user customizable for user to adjust timezone per feed in the future version

      • APK January 3, 2011 at 11:57 pm

        Thanks for replying. I appreciate the effort. I will patiently wait for your next update. Thanks again.

  5. charlie January 4, 2011 at 4:48 am

    I upgraded to v1.111 1 day ago. This morning when I open RssDemon, it shows blank. No feeds.
    I look at the meecal folder in the SD Card and found a lot of data inside the Cache folder. There is a RssDemonBackup.xml file.

    But in RssDemon->Setting->Restore, it says no backup found.

    I use Import OPML to import all the feeds from the RssDemonBackup.xml file to get them back.

    I click RssDemon->Setting->Backup, now it create 2 files. But not the RssDemonBackup.xml file.

    How can I Export the feeds to OPML file? I cannot find this feature anywhere.

    • meecal.dev January 4, 2011 at 7:06 am

      what phone model do you have? we will try to add new feature to allow user to export to OPML in near future.

      • charlie January 4, 2011 at 11:25 pm

        Mine is HTC Desire HD running Android 2.2.

        Also, In the RssDemon->Setting->MessageStore->FeedMessageStoreLimit, it says we can override in individual feed.

        But in individual feed properties, there is no way to override the message store limit.

        How can I override individual feed’s message store limit?

      • meecal.dev January 5, 2011 at 12:43 am

        At this moment, there are no way to override for individual feed. The description we are having is incorrect, but we will try to bring this feature to u asap.

      • charlie January 4, 2011 at 11:30 pm

        Hi, I think the previous version was able to backup the feeds into XML file. Else, how come there is a RssDemonBackup.xml file in the meecal folder?

        It would be good that the Backup function also update the RssDemonBackup.xml file in additional to the AppSettings.xml & Database.db that it creates now.

        Anyway, thanks for creating this very good Rss Reader Application.

      • meecal.dev January 5, 2011 at 12:39 am

        Very good suggestion, we will bring it back for this coming release in two days

      • bobby March 24, 2013 at 8:15 pm

        hello meecal. i’m also wondering about how to export the feeds to .opml so i can import them into liferea. is it possible? i’m using the latest verion as of March 24, 2013 on an android tablet (4.0.3 ICS).

    • charlie January 19, 2011 at 10:40 pm

      Hi,
      I’m using v1.112.
      I encounter the problem of all feeds disappearing again.
      Yesterday when I launch RssDeamon, it says no feeds.
      I checked the /meecal/cache. There are a lot of files there still.

      Fortunately I have done a backup 1 week ago.

      But why is the feeds disppearing ?

      • meecal.dev January 20, 2011 at 12:40 am

        This is strange, it should not has happen, except you wipe out the app data by doing Clear Data under manage application

  6. Tanja January 5, 2011 at 6:14 am

    The full refund at RSS Elite wont work. If I install it it works fine for some hours, but after some hours the problem comes back and then I got no refund.
    Yesterday I have the same problem, but at first time during running of RSS. I read an article and opend additional info in browser (RSS was running in background), after going back to RSS I could see that RSS has lost color information (at this moment RSS has updated the database), after I closed the feed and go back to feed-summary I got the info “welcome to RSS Atom news reader!” with the 3 buttons.
    Today I done a last test. I deleted the cache, deleted data, uninstalled app and deleted Meecal-directory. Also the same problem; it works for some hours and then reset configuration.

    thx

    • meecal.dev January 5, 2011 at 11:44 am

      Could you do a Settings->Backup and restore->backup and go to sdcard and zip up the meecal folder. And email it to meecal.dev@gmail.com. We will take a look your feeds and setrings to see if they might be the cause.

      • Tanja January 5, 2011 at 12:58 pm

        If you look 2 or 3 Messages up i wrote:
        **************
        Backup function wont work on my Galaxy S. There is the message “Backup faild! Please check SDCard (writeprotection?)”? SDCard is inserted, more than 1.5 GB free?
        **************
        Many things are on my SDCard and the SDCard works fine, but RSS has a problem with my SDCard or with firmware v2.2.1 / JPY.

        If its ok I can send you a zip of my meecal folder from internal SDCard.
        I make 2 backups; one before RSS resets the configuration and one if RSS resets the configuration.

        Files are send to you.

        thx

  7. kc January 6, 2011 at 1:27 am

    I love the download podcasts feature to listen to when offline, however, how do I delete the downloaded podcasts without deleting the entire post in the feed? I would like to see the posts in the event I want to go back and re-listen to a podcast but not have it clutter up my sd card. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

